Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Aperture Problem.

Hi

I am totally new at Mac, and at Aperture. I moved manually my original pictures folders that I had used in Aperture for project in an attempt to classiify them better. I realized my mistake, when Aperture could not locate them. So I used: 'Relocate original' and also 'Locate referenced file' in an attempt to fix my problem. Now what a surprise when I found all my projects photos on my desk top.

I use an external drive both for my librairy and for my original pictures.

Questions:

1- Can I safely delete the photos on my desk top?

2- What did i do wrong?

3- I wish to move my library from my external drive to my macbook pro because it is to slow ... how do i do that?

thank you

claudem99

MacBook Pro, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.2), I use an external hard drive

Posted on Nov 17, 2012 6:23 PM

12 replies

Nov 18, 2012 12:31 AM in response to claudem99

claudem99,

What is your Aperture version?

And how did you import your image files into Aperture? From what you describe, I assume you imported your image files as "referenced" originals, (Aperture 3 User Manual: Working with Referenced Images), and Aperture did not import the image files, but references them in their original location.

1- Can I safely delete the photos on my desk top?

No, better not, not until you consolidated your Aperture library. These may be the only copies of your image files.

2- What did i do wrong?

When you are moving referenced referenced files, never use the Finder, let Aperture move the files with "Relocate Original files". Otherwise Aperture will not be able to keep track of the location.

3- I wish to move my library from my external drive to my macbook pro because it is to slow ... how do i do that?