Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I have the same videos in iDVD, iMovie and Disk Utility. Can I delete one or more of these?

I am trying to free up space on my iMac and have noticed, using OmniSweep, that I have videos saved in multiple locations: iMovie; iDVD; and Disk Utility. If I delete the iMovie and iDVD, will I still be able at a later date to burn copies of these videos using Disk Utility? I'm an elementary music teacher and so I usually have 5-6 performances a year that I edit and save on my computer.

iMac, Mac OS X (10.6.8), also have iMovie and iDVD

Posted on Nov 21, 2012 7:07 AM

2 replies

Nov 21, 2012 10:14 AM in response to iteachmusic

Hi

This is really problematic as these programs (especially iMovie) works in a Non Destructive way.

Meaning - Material that takes up space is just stored in one place - and iMovie, iDVD and so on is relying on it to be there - e.g. in iMovie Project there is NO movie - but just a small text document describing what material is used (video, audio and photos) and where to find them - AND Howto Play it to be the Movie You edited it to be.

If material is moved or lost - all **** will break lose and this can be anything from Hard to Impossibly to mend.

So I would invest in a new external Hard Disk (FireWire or Thunderbolt - Not USB/USB2 as they performs badly to me - especially when filling up and if HD-Material is used)

Then follow this note's I written

Moving Event's and Project's

Connection - Either connect one Mac in Target mode to the other via FireWire. Or use an external hard disk !

(Target-Mode - Start one Mac e.g. laptop - BUT keep T-key down during full up-start - Now a FW-symbol is jumping around the screen and it will work as an external hard disk when connected to the other Mac)