Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Slideshow screensaver unique image each monitor?

Snow Leopard screensaver slideshow put a different image on each of my two monitors (displays). I believe this has been true since OS X 10.3.

Mountain Lion behaved the same way with 'classic' slideshow screenshow -- until recently. Now the images are synchronized. I think when the images came from Aperture they were desynchronized, but now that I've unified libraries it shows 'iPhoto' and they are synchronized.

I would prefer, of course, a different photo on each display.

Any tips on how to do this? I studied the pref file but didn't see any obvious clues.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">

<plist version="1.0">

<dict>

<key>Center</key>

<false/>

<key>Crop</key>

<true/>

<key>Crossfade</key>

<true/>

<key>DisplayType</key>

<string>Slides</string>

<key>Random</key>

<true/>

<key>Zoom</key>

<true/>

</dict>

</plist>

Posted on Nov 24, 2012 6:23 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Nov 24, 2012 6:38 PM

I tried toggling the 'shuffle slide order' setting and after a couple of round trips I ended up with a desynchronized display pair. So there are things to try.

7 replies

Apr 11, 2013 3:35 AM in response to jfaughnan

Yes, I've been trying to achieve the same result, and I found that with "shuffle slide order" selected I frequently have different images on each screen, but (at random?) the pictures are identical, probably returning to different at the next activation of the screensaver. Sounds like we need an additional prefs parameter to either load all displays with the first image in the queue or to proceed down the queue, loading each display sequentially.

Apr 11, 2013 5:44 AM in response to allanfromcork