Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Non-smoothed Keyframes on 'Transform' Parameters?

Hi guys, this is driving me absolutely insane:

I'm working on some screencast videos and just want to achieve a rather simple effect: a simple, slow zoom to a part of the canvas, then after a period of time, a slow zoom back out to return to 100%. Check out Apple's new iTunes video on this page to see *exactly* the effect I'm talking about:

http://www.apple.com/itunes/whats-new/

Now, I've been using FCPX for six months now and overall I absolutely love it, but I haven't done much keyframing or canvas/layer manipulation up until now. I thought this would be easy, but it seems that every time I keyframe an object's position and scale (or anything under the 'Transform' tab, for that matter) FCPX renders the movement with an S-curve.

I read some threads by people with similar problems and understand that with certain keyframes (seemingly only those where the motion path is visible in the viewer when 'Transform' is enabled?) you are able to toggle between linear/smooth. Some others suggested that keyframing the position and anchor point is a workaround, but I get the same effect when doing this this.

Basically, I just can't animate a non eased/curved zoom and pan. Is there a way to stop keyframes of 'Transform' properties from doing this? I really don't want to have to take all my screencast videos, bring them into After Effects, apply my motion effects, export them again and bring the final videos back into FCPX.

Any help on this would be *greatly* appreciated.

MacBook Pro (Retina, Mid 2012), iOS 6.0.1, 16GB RAM

Posted on Nov 29, 2012 2:50 PM

3 replies

Nov 29, 2012 3:49 PM in response to AidanH

You need to use third-party effects to do this.

I've made a few free ones that might help:

Alex4D Grow-Shrink