Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Hi. I have an iphone 3gs ios vers 4.1 it was locked to Vodafone but I had them unlock it. Can I update to ios vers 6 and will it still be unlocked. Most apps need vers 4.3 or higher to download. Thanks

Hi, I am new to this forum so please excuse anything I may say that sounds a bit stupid but I am not very technically minded.

I have got an iPhone 3gs ios version 4.1. The phone was locked to Vodafone and I asked them to unlock it which they did. I connected the phone to iTunes and it said congratulations your phone is now unlocked. My new Tesco sim card was accepted and the phone works fine. I have tried to download some apps but they all seem to need a higher version of the ios. iTunes says there is an update for my phone ios version 6. I need to know if I update my phone to this version will my phone still be unlocked and also will the phone continue to work properley. Hope someone can help.

Thanks DaveB

iPhone 3GS, iOS 4.1, Unlocked by Vodafone

Posted on Dec 4, 2012 2:38 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 4, 2012 2:39 PM

If it was officially unlocked by Vodaphone, it should remain unlocked when you update the operating system on the iPhone, the current version of which is iOS 6.0.1.

Regards.

7 replies

Dec 4, 2012 2:59 PM in response to DaveB4126

Some people have had problems, but that's been true of every iOS version ever released. The chances are good that things will go smoothly for you.