Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Is the Time Capsule/Time Machine backup process faster with Ethernet or wi-fi network?

I'm no expert/technician, just an average user.

I've had a TC for about a year now, and used it to simply backup my MBP on the wifi network of my ADSL modem (20 MB speed).

Some things I've been reading on here suggest that an Ethernet connection makes things faster, is that true?

Is there a consistent improvement in backup speed going from wifi to Ethernet cable on the TC?

I don't know much about the TC potential, as in creating or extending networks, clients, routers and stuff...as said I'm no expert at all!

Would it be better/more appropriate to use the TC with its own network, or connecting it via Ethernet to the modem existing one?

Speed isn't that bad, I have iPhone, Mac and TV all joined to the network, TC backing up, and still manage to like download movies pretty fast...

I prefer wifi it's more portable less cables and all, I'm just wondering if I'm sort of missing out on the TC.

Thank you. 🙂

Time Capsule 802.11n (4th Gen), OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.1), 2TB 

Posted on Dec 6, 2012 2:37 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 6, 2012 2:43 PM

Ethernet is rated at 1 Gb/s. Fast wireless is rated at 0.330 Gb/s. Ethernet is at least three times faster.

For further comparison:

Ethernet is almost as fast as USB 2.0.

Firewire 400 is about 20% faster than USB 2.0

Firewire 800 is about twice as fast as Firewire 400.

Suffice to say that backups over wireless to a Time Capsule is slow as molasses.

8 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Dec 6, 2012 2:43 PM in response to applewarm

Ethernet is rated at 1 Gb/s. Fast wireless is rated at 0.330 Gb/s. Ethernet is at least three times faster.

For further comparison:

Ethernet is almost as fast as USB 2.0.

Firewire 400 is about 20% faster than USB 2.0

Firewire 800 is about twice as fast as Firewire 400.