Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I have the lightning connector for my iphone 5. I have noticed that on the connector that the 4th pin is burned out. What data is transferred on the 4th pin? And should I be worried

Please read question. I'm new to apple forums

iPhone 3GS, iOS 6

Posted on Dec 11, 2012 10:23 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 12, 2012 7:31 AM

How do you know it's 'burned out'? Maybe it's just discolored?

In either case, return the phone or cable to Apple for a possible warranty replacement.

12 replies

Dec 12, 2012 7:43 AM in response to paulcb

Well I'm not being arrogant but I'm A+ certified and I've seen burned pins before. At first I thought it was a discoloration because it was on one side, but lo and behold its on both sides now. I don't want to return it because I hate going to the apple store. None of them know anything about hardware except what's in the brochure. At least that's how it is at my store. So none of them will be able to tell me what the problem is and how I can prevent it from happening again

Dec 12, 2012 4:11 PM in response to JubJub1991

Did you have a case on your phone? The pins on either side of the connector are soldered to the same connectors, so they are dynamically assigned, in order to make the connector reversible. One pin (don't know which one) detects the orientation and determines how to assign the pins. Some cases prevent the connector from fully inseting into the port and lets some pins connect but not others. This might have prevented the dynamic assignment from occuring properly and causing mis-connections to short. This only happens to one side at the time, so that's what might have happened to your cable.

I haven't seen any pinouts for the lightening cable, but as it is burned, I would assume it carries the current for charging the phone.