Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Macbook Air 13"11" i5/i7 Config Help

I am a student.

I have been using MS Office, Autocad, and Adobe Illustrator. I also do video/graphics design.

My options:

1: Macbook Air 11 256gb ssd i7 8gb

2: Macbook Air 13 128gb ssd i5 8gb

3: Macbook Air 13 256gb ssd i7 8gb

I like the 2nd option the best it cheaper and i am seriously considering computer science as my major possibly.

Anyways, since they have been out a while now is the i7 significantly faster then the i5?

What do you guys think?

Any other difference from the macbook air 13/11?

MacBook Pro (15-inch, Mid 2012), OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.2)

Posted on Dec 13, 2012 9:27 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 13, 2012 9:34 PM

For video editing and graphics design, I recommend you consider the MacBook Pro. Any of the MacBook Air models you are considering will work, but the MacBook Pro and its ability to address more memory is better suited to these tasks.

Also, the 13" screen would seem a bit small for me for graphics work but this is a subjective opinion. A 15" would be better and if Apple would only make a 17" MBP I'd buy it.

There is a difference between the i5 and i7 but it is not a significant one. The difference in performance is readily apparent only when you compare them side by side.

4 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Dec 13, 2012 9:34 PM in response to AnimalMother

For video editing and graphics design, I recommend you consider the MacBook Pro. Any of the MacBook Air models you are considering will work, but the MacBook Pro and its ability to address more memory is better suited to these tasks.

Also, the 13" screen would seem a bit small for me for graphics work but this is a subjective opinion. A 15" would be better and if Apple would only make a 17" MBP I'd buy it.