Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

best mac laptop for aperture

I currently use a 1.7Ghz core i5 Air so it has 4GB RAM.

I am aware that RAM is very important so I close all applications and restart and open Aperture, I have use an extrenal USB 3.0 hard drive and it really is a bit slow, I see the spinning beach ball alot when I get into an involved project. I recently compeleted a 40 page book and it was almost unuesable by the end.

I use an external monitor but it would be nice not to have to. I am an amatuer not a pro but get pretty involved in the porcessing using Nik and Photomatix plugins.

I am thinking of upgrading assume the following:

Min 8GB RAM

Min 512 GB HD

It does not have to be that light but another Air would be ideal but cannot see that this would satisfy my needs.

Advice please

MacBook Air, OS X Mountain Lion

Posted on Dec 15, 2012 5:14 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 15, 2012 7:06 AM

I am currently using Aperture on two different MBPs with Mt. Lion, both 17" models:

• OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.2), 2.4 GHz I.Core i7, 16GB RAM, 500GB SSD, 1TB HD
  • OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.2), 2.2 GHz I.Core i7, 8GB RAM, 1TB HD

Both Machines work very well with Aperture, but the 2.4 GHz I.Core i7, 16GB RAM, 500GB SSD combination is way faster, i.e. with very large raw files. When working with moderately sized jpegs the 8GB RAM version should be o.k. To have more disk space, i replaced the DVD super drive by a second internal disk, so that I have enough space for videos, music projects , and image files.