Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Thunderbolt partitioned and formatted hard drive not recognized on USB2/3

I have a MBA (mid 2012) and recently purchased a Seagate Desktop Thunderbolt Adapter (STAE129), a Seagate Backup Plus 4TB USB 3.0 external drive (STCA4000100), and Apple Thunderbolt cable. The 4TB hard drive can be separated from the USB 3.0 adapter and the drive placed on the Thunderbolt adapter. I created two partitions (3TB and 1 TB) on the 4TB drive while it was mounted on the Thunderbolt adapter and formatted them Mac OS Extended (Journaled) using partition map scheme GPT. Everything works as expected, the drive hits r/w speeds in the 180 MB/s range (using Blackmagic Disk Speed Test), and no issues at all transferring data to the 3TB partition and using the 1TB partition for TimeMachine.

However, if I disconnect the hard drive from the Thunderbolt adapter and place it on the USB 3.0 adapter and connect it to my MBA, Mountain Lion says "The disk you inserted was not readable by this computer and gives me the options to Initialize, Ignore, or Eject. Going into Disk Utility app, the drive shows up without the partitions I created when the same drive was mounted to the Thunderbolt adapter (just shows disk1s1). In fact, the drive label (Disk Description) is different too and the Partition Map Scheme now shows MBR!

To try work-arounds, I went ahead and repeated the partitioning and formatting steps with the drive attached via USB 3.0 and all works fine until I put the drive back on the Thunderbolt adapter where once again OSX reports that the disk is not readable. I've even tried a single partition with no luck. In short, the drive partitioned and formatted on Thunderbolt is unrecognized under USB and vice versa.