Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Burning Large Video Files

I apologize ahead of time for not knowing how to do this, but I do not do this for a living and am in no means a professional.

I shot and did some basic edits from a fairly recent hd sony handycam video camera.

I exported the video out of Final Cut with "export as quicktime movie" as a Apple Prores 444 to preserve quality.

One 40 minute file comes out to be about 70gb, however there are other smaller clips I want to add to the dvd menu in Studio Pro.

I have never used Compressor before because I have never had files this large, yet DVD Studio Pro has always managed to do the compressing even with larger files when I click burn.

This time it did not, I assume because of the file size.

I put the large file in Compressor but I don't really know where to go from there. I put settings at apple prores 444 and compressed, but the file came out the exact same size.

Then I tried a downgraded m-peg and got the file to be only a couple of gigabytes, however it took up just as much room in Studio when I used it.

I am just looking for any advice on what settings I need to make the files in compressor to keep the good quality HD footage, but be able to burn on a disc from Studio.

Or why Studio reacts the same whether it's a larger file vs. smaller. Does it only depend on the length?

Many thanks for any advice.or help.

Mac OS X (10.5.8)

Posted on Dec 19, 2012 4:02 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 19, 2012 4:36 PM

ProRes4X4 is completely unnecessary for what you are working with. What is the codec you are editing in? In the Browser (the window in the upper left of FCP with your clips and sequences) scroll to the right and tell me what it says for Frame Rate, Compressor and Frame Size. This is your editing codec. I hope it's not 4X4.