Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Need Help in Knowing Exactly What is Installed & Upgrading RAM & HD

Hello-

I am not very tech savvy, so I am calling for some help here. I might be getting in over my head, but I think with some help here and from Apple articles, I should be able to correctly upgrade to the max RAM and the best quality and largets HD. I have a brand new cMBP. I wanted 16 GB (or need 16 Gb of RAM) but that configuration was not possible. I understand one needs to install RAM that is compatible with the existing RAM, which I do not know how to figue that out too. I need to figure out how much RAM is currently installed, and either take the existing RAM out and install sticks of the best RAM I can get for this cMBP that equals 16 GB of RAM. I would like some recommendations on where to go to get the RAM, how to know what type I need (I know there are several numbers/letters that identify the RAM), and I think I found the link that shows me how to change the RAM. I do not have the proper screwdrivers so I will need to get those, but my main concern is to know what to do with the existing RAM. I know that I did order the least amount of RAM I could get since I knew I needed 16 GB so I was gong to upgrade. I did read the RAM has to be evenly divided but I am not sure exactly what that means since I do not know how many slots it has. I stayed with the least expensive HD because I knew I was going to try and upgrade to the largest SSD (or Flash Drive-not sure of the difference). If it is difficult to swap out the existing HD 5200rpm for the best SSD, I have not been able to find that Apple article, but recommendations on a website to get these drives for the MBP I just received would be really helpful.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me. Remember I am not savvy in this type of stuff so I need as much detail explanation as one can give me.

Posted on Dec 20, 2012 3:21 AM