Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How long should a MacBook Air battery last

How long should a MacBook Air battery last? Only 1 year? Mine drains very fast now.

MacBook Air (13-inch Late 2010), OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.2)

Posted on Dec 28, 2012 7:01 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 15, 2013 4:21 AM

How long you can use your computer on a full charge is completely dependant on what you are doing. If I am playing a game or watching a video I get about 2.5 hours. If I am using a word processor or programming (and turn off WiFi) I get over 5 hours sometimes almost 6 hours. I have a 13" 2011 MBA which has fewer than 100 cycles.

The two things that affect battery life the most on a MBA are CPU usage and how bright the display is, followed by WiFi and BlueTooth. To get the best battery life, turn off BT and WiFi (for me this adds maybe 30 minutes) turn down the backlight as low as you can. If you are doing serious work avoid taking breaks by playing a 3D game 😉

5 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jan 15, 2013 4:21 AM in response to cook154

How long you can use your computer on a full charge is completely dependant on what you are doing. If I am playing a game or watching a video I get about 2.5 hours. If I am using a word processor or programming (and turn off WiFi) I get over 5 hours sometimes almost 6 hours. I have a 13" 2011 MBA which has fewer than 100 cycles.

The two things that affect battery life the most on a MBA are CPU usage and how bright the display is, followed by WiFi and BlueTooth. To get the best battery life, turn off BT and WiFi (for me this adds maybe 30 minutes) turn down the backlight as low as you can. If you are doing serious work avoid taking breaks by playing a 3D game 😉

Jan 14, 2013 11:39 PM in response to cook154