Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Display and Printing questions.

I am relatively new to Aperture and have just recently started sending my images off to get printed. I have tried a few differnt priting services and have noticed they are all too dark and sometimes the color is off from what I see on the computer.

So, what is the best way to make sure my screen postion, color and birghness are set corretcly to give me an accurate print?

Also, off topic, I have been told I should not use Aperture since there are rumors of Apple not continuing to devolpe new version of the program or it will be "Dumbed Down". Any input on this?

Thanks in advance!

Adam

17inch MacBook Pro 2011.

Aperture 3, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.2)

Posted on Dec 29, 2012 12:54 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 29, 2012 1:17 PM

Hi Adam,

You've stumbled into a large and not easily-digested topic: monitor calibration, which is part of a color-calibrated workflow. Here's a very brief start. Search this forum for "color calibrat*". And search Google for "My prints are too dark". Luminous Landscape and Northlight Images each have information that I found helpful.

If you are printing or sharing digital images, you will benefit from a hardware calibrator. I use and recommend (as a start) the Color Munki Photo from X-Rite. Afaik, this unit has been replaced by a new one. What you are trying to achieve is to calibrate your display to world-wide standards. When used with other devices calibrated to the same standards, you should see consistent color (and luminance) no matter the device used to display (or print) your images.

Software calibration is built into OS X. While better than nothing, it cannot compare to the results you will get using a hardware calibrator. You should use a photospectrometer; a colorimeter is not good enough.