Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Can I do this with Applescript?

I have no knowledge at all of Applescript, but I'm hoping someone can tell me what to do with it.

I am working on making an .srt file for film subtitles. I've done some manually and so I know what to do, but I have some steps I do often that are just a pain and I'd like to automate those steps. This is what I do:

1. Edit or add to the file (using Textedit)

2. Save it (maybe this step isn't necessary with the auto-save, but I am often making a small change and quickly going back to the video to load it in. I don't know if the auto save would also save it quickly enough to skip forcing the save with command-S.

3. Go to the video (using VLC for this). It's always the same video and is still open.

4. Go to the menu for subtitles and select "Open file".

5. Open the .srt file I edited (this is also always the same file).

6. Rewind or otherwise change the starting point to see if my changes worked and appear at the right time.

This process is done over and over. What I'd like to do is combine steps 2 through 5 into one script or macro.

Obviously item 1 must be done manually and I assume I wouldn't be able to have a macro take the present position of the video and automatically have it start 20 seconds earlier, but if I can get help with the rest, it will really speed up my work!

Or maybe there is another option besides Applescript?

Posted on Dec 31, 2012 11:16 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 1, 2013 4:01 PM

AppleScript

Learn AppleScript: The Comprehensive Guide to Scripting and Automation on Mac OS X, Third Edition the book

AppleScript Language Guide pdf download the pdf file

Intro to applescript with sending an email
http://mac.appstorm.net/how-to/applescript/the-ultimate-beginners-guide-to-apple script/

4 replies

Jan 1, 2013 9:29 PM in response to rccharles