Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Getting a damaged retina display replaced

I woke up two days ago and opened up my MB Pro with retina display that I got in august. I powered it up and immediately thoguht **** there was what looked like a puncture throught the glass and into the display. I turned the brightness down and saw that there was no damage to the glass, or the aluminum backing of the display. My screen is now virtually useless and apple won't replace it even though it's a hardware malfunction, had I done something to actually damage the compute I would understand but this is ust something that occured. I'm a broke college student and can't afford the $1300 they quoted me to fix it. Has anyone had experience with this problem before?

MacBook Pro with Retina display, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.2)

Posted on Jan 9, 2013 12:54 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 9, 2013 2:01 PM

I'm a bit confused. You said you saw what looked like a puncture through the glass, but there's no damage to the glass or aluminum. But the screen is useless. Would it be possible to post a picture of the damage? Also, please describe how the damage occured?

Apple presumes that broken displays and the like are the result of user neglect, so your claim of computer malfunction must seem reasonable and be well-documented.

8 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jan 9, 2013 2:01 PM in response to MGS114

I'm a bit confused. You said you saw what looked like a puncture through the glass, but there's no damage to the glass or aluminum. But the screen is useless. Would it be possible to post a picture of the damage? Also, please describe how the damage occured?

Apple presumes that broken displays and the like are the result of user neglect, so your claim of computer malfunction must seem reasonable and be well-documented.

Jan 10, 2013 10:46 AM in response to MGS114