Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Aperture changing pixel size after using Retouch/Repair/Clone tool?

I apologize if this is a stupid question - I'm new to using Aperture and have a rudimentary knowledge (at best) about the mechanics of Aperture.

I use the retouch tool on a portion of my photo, and the pixel size is reduced. I want to maintain the original 12.0megapixels. How do I work with the photo without changing the pixel size - or, how can I restore the orginal pixel size after editing the photo?

I've also cropped the photo, constraining the aspect ratio at 4:5.

Here is the file info before I start working with it:

User uploaded file

And after using the retouch, this happens:

User uploaded file

Aperture 3, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.2)

Posted on Jan 20, 2013 6:06 AM

14 replies

Jan 20, 2013 6:50 AM in response to kl16

That is very puzzling. Aperture never, ever changes the original image file when editing. The originals are kept exactly as imported, and the changes will be applied to the version. The edited version will show exactly the same pixel size, even if you crop the file.

Please explain in more detail, how exactly you are editing your image. Do you export and reimport it after editing?

Regards

Léonie

Jan 20, 2013 10:57 AM in response to léonie

Thank you for your response! It's pretty frustrating...

So I only use Aperture for photo editing, and my files are directly imported from my camera into Aperture.

Here is an example right now - my photo was imported from my camera.

1) I open it in aperture - It's at 12mp

User uploaded file

2) I make a duplicate copy , still at 12 MP

User uploaded file

3) I go to crop only - no change in megapixels, we're good...

4) I go to image adjustments - and do auto enhance - then this happens!

User uploaded file

5) I go to "undo " the auto enhance, and that does not restore the original size of the photo. Next,