Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Trying to install gcc with Command Line Tools - Mountain Lion

I am trying to update the CUDA driver for an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 570 card. To do that, I need gcc installed.

It appears I have not been able to install gcc, and I need help doing this.

I am a newbie to both Terminal commands and to updating CUDA drivers, so please bear with me.

I am running Mountain Lion (10.8.2) on a dual quad core Mac Pro (mid 2010 model).

I have been following the guide here:

http://docs.nvidia.com/cuda/cuda-getting-started-guide-for-mac-os-x/index.html

To install gcc w/o having to install Xcode (I don’t need all of Xcode and so don’t want it installed), I downloaded the “Command Line Tools (OS X Mountain Lion) for Xcode – November 2012” from the Apple Developer Downloads page:

xcode452cltools10_86938211a.dmg

I also downloaded the “Mac OS X CUDA 5 Production Release” from the NVIDIA Developers Download page:

cuda_5.0.36_macos.pkg

I installed the Command Line Tools, and then installed the CUDA 5 Release (driver, toolkit, samples). Both installed successfully.

To verify that gcc was installed, I entered the Terminal command (the guide above says this is how I check):

/usr/bin/gcc –-help

The resulting message was:

i686-apple-darwin11-llvm-gcc-4.2: –-help: No such file or directory

i686-apple-darwin11-llvm-gcc-4.2: no input files

I take it this means I did not successfully install gcc.

Please tell me what I am doing wrong.

................................................................................ ................................................................................ .................................

NOTE: The steps below may not be of interest to you, since they are steps to verify the CUDA driver was updated (once gcc is successfully installed).

But I included them in the post, in case they are helpful..

I went to “Define the environment variables”.