Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Have I correctly added these system-wide PATH entries?

I am new to Terminal commands, so please bear with me.......I am learning.

I am running Mountain Lion (10.8.2) on a dual quad core Mac Pro.

I am trying to update the CUDA driver for an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 570 card.

To do this, I need to add two PATH commands, according to the NVIDIA Guide:

http://docs.nvidia.com/cuda/cuda-getting-started-guide-for-mac-os-x/index.html

The two commands are:

export PATH=/Developer/NVIDIA/CUDA-5.0/bin:$PATH

export DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH=/Developer/NVIDIA/CUDA-5.0/lib:$DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH

I added these in the .bash_profile file with the following commands:

cd to get to home directory

ls -a to see if there was already a .bash_profile file (there was not)

touch .bash_profile to create the file

ls -a to confirm I have created the file

open ~/.bash_profile to open the file in TextEdit

I then:

- Pasted the two commands into the file, as two line

- File-->Save

- TextEdit-->Quit TextEdit.

I then forced .bash_profile to execute immediately w/o having to boot:

source ~/.bash_profile

Then I tested the path:

echo $PATH

The resulting path was:

/Developer/NVIDIA/CUDA-5.0/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/usr/local/bin

I know that the system-wide default path is in /etc/paths:

/usr/bin

/bin

/usr/sbin

/sbin

/usr/local/bin

Questions:

1. I thought that the system first reads /etc/paths:, then later .bash_profile. So, I expected the NVIDIA commands to be at the end, not at the beginning. Is this path correct, or do I need to do this differently?

2. In the future when I update the operating system beyond 10.8.2, will I have to repeat all of this, or will these commands be protected? If they will not be protected, where do I place them so they will be protected?

Thanks!

Final Cut Pro X, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.2), Mac Pro 2 x 2.4GHz Quad-Core Intel