Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Synology DS 213 VS DS 213Air

Hi Folks,

I'm a NAS Newbie and wanted some advice for choosing a 2 bay NAS. I'm down to to options: the Synology DS 213 or DS213Air. Here are my requirements:

1. Mac Compatible
  2. Allows local and remote (via Internet) file access
  3. iPhone/iPad compatible
  4. Time Machine multi device capable (need to backup several Macs and a PC)
  5. Able to stream videos (especially MKV format)
  6. Reliable and well built
  7. Expandable
  8. Energy efficient
  9. Relatively fast
  10. USB 3.0

I plan to use this initially with a Netgear N750 gigabit router and connect my two macbook pro's wirelessly to the router. I have two 3 TB WD Green Cavier hard drives which I intend to set up as Raid 1.0.

I did a general compare of the two NAS server and the 213 has a faster processor (2.0 over 1.6), more memory (512 over 256) and more input options (extra usb 3.0 input plus SD card input) while the 213air has wifi. I read somewhere that you can actually attach a wifi dongle on the 213, however, i'm not sure if it would perform the same as the 213air or have the same wireless feature set.

I want to ensure there aren't any NAS hardware related wireless performance issues as I want to use Time machine over wifi and don't want it to take forever. If the wireless speed is throttled due to my NAS hard drives and router than I will likely go with the 213air as i like the option of having wireless capability. If wireless performance will be throttled due to a slower processor and less RAM, i'll go with the 213.

Any thoughts or suggestions? Like I mentioned earlier, I'm a bit of newbie at this and have done a little bit of research on this, however, Icouldn't find any performance benchmarks for the 213 and 213air.

Thanking everyone's help in advance!

John