Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Multiple devices on a single Apple ID - is VPP required?

Hello,

I work in a school that is buying iPads, we currently have 10 which I setup using the apple configurator.

At the moment these iPads are all set up with the same Apple ID (the school one) My main question is will I need to enroll in the volume purchase program in order to use paid apps? and if so does that mean that I will need to create a new Apple ID for every iPad?

These devices belong to the school and will be shared out from a cabinet so it is not acceptable to let an end user configure the device with their own Apple ID.

Thanks.

Posted on Jan 28, 2013 3:17 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 28, 2013 5:24 AM

Here's some general info. http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5188

 Cheers, Tom 😉

6 replies

Jan 28, 2013 5:37 AM in response to Texas Mac Man

Thanks, that info helps me out a little. At least I now know that I will be able to install all the apps through configurator, with the VPP.

I guess the answer isnt out there regarding "how many devices per ID" question. Obviously if there was no limit I could purchase an app on one of them and then download that app on all of the iPads with the same ID.

Mar 23, 2013 7:14 AM in response to Prince Sparkle

The Apple Configurator tool robbed my school of @ 60×4 apps.

Here's my mistake. I bought all the apps needed for the whole school in one lump sum. i.e. 350 copies of Pages. Then happily went to Configurator and loaded the spreadsheet. Installed on all the student iPads. Then need the remaining licenses to gift to the teachers and @ 30 for the cart. NOPE! Once they are loaded in to Configurator you can never get them back. Apple said, “sorry”.

I did this for the iWorks suite, iPhoto, & neu.Annotate before I realized what was happening.