Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Compact flash cards stopped mounting to Imac and macbook pro. I have tried both a reader and directly from the camera.

I am a photographer, and I do the same thing every single time I load pictures, I use a Targus card reader for my compact flash cards and load them that way. I have a 2011 Imac. and a Nikon d700 camera. I use a variety of compact fash cards. I purchased a macbook pro 3 weeks ago. Yesterday, I tried to unload my photos using the card reader to the macbook pro, and it wouldnt mount, so I hooked the camera directly to the computer, still wouldn't mount. When I got home I tried it on my imac, same issue. I have done this literally hundreds of times and now there is nothing. I have checked all the tabs in finder, and all appropriate items are checked. Nothing should have changed since I last uploaded photos, but nothing will work now. I have tried 3 different usb cables, and many different cf cards. Nothing will work on either mac, However, it all works on my crappy old gateway laptop. Any help would be appreciated. I am at a loss, and I need this to work for my business! I will warn you I am pretty un-knowledgeable when it comes to macs and anything very advanced.

iMac, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.2), same issue on Macbook Pro

Posted on Jan 28, 2013 8:54 AM

25 replies

Apr 1, 2013 2:00 PM in response to abeltz

Unfortunately I have no solution for you. But I like many others I have now found out, have exactly the same problem. How on earth to get the images from the CF card onto my iMac. Card reader doesn't work, USB directly in the computer no mounting going on (nor is the CF card visible in Disk Utility). Has anyone got a solution (anything other than to buy a Windows computer, because I do not want that).

Apr 1, 2013 2:10 PM in response to freudsigmund