Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iCal buggy looping on iMac Lion

i have this weird thing happening: when i launch iCal i keep getting: "Adding a new event. This calendar contains a new event. Please select a destination calendar:" and i then select a calendar and hit OK but this then repeats a million times but never progresses until it finally freezes.

- running 10.7.5 - and i don't appear to even HAVE a Library under Macintosh HD/Users/myusername/ ?!

i do, however, have Macintosh HD/Library/Preferences but no com.apple.iCal at all. none.

i've never used iCal before today, finally set it up on my iPhone and iPad (it works in these two places) and to sync to iCloud. i think unbeknownst to me this meetup group i belong to sent a million calendar invitations this past year and the incoming invitations may be clogging things up.

help?

iMac, Mac OS X (10.7.5)

Posted on Jan 29, 2013 12:38 PM

21 replies

Feb 1, 2013 7:27 PM in response to skottez

skottez,

You may be looking in the wrong Library for the Calendars Folder/Preferences Folder to remove the cache/plist files.

1. Make sure iCal is not running.

2. Go to your Macintosh HD/Users/yourusername/Library/Calendars Folder and move any any files with "Cache" listed in the name field to your Desktop. To find the correct Library folder, go to the Finder menu and select "Go," while holding the "Go" menu depress the "option" key to reveal the desired Library folder.

3. To remove the iCal plist file go to your Macintosh HD/Users/yourusername/Library/Preferences Folder and move the com.apple.iCal.plist file to the Desktop. To find the correct Library folder, go to the Finder menu and select "Go," while holding the "Go" menu depress the "option" key to reveal the desired Library folder.

4. Log out/in or restart, and open Calendar.

User uploaded file

Feb 2, 2013 11:39 AM in response to Ferd II