Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Summarizing data in a chart

Hi,

I'm new to numbers. I've got some experience with Excel, but I've never been a spreadsheet expert.

I'm trying to summarize data into a chart. I'd like to do this without manually creating a summary table first; I'd prefer to do it without creating a dynamic summary table either, but I can't find a way to do this. I've read some documentation and watched several tutorials and all of the data is fairly simple. For example, one YouTube video has a data set like this:

Apples 23

Oranges 32

Bananas 100

Mangos 10

When a pie chart is created, there are four wedges, and the four wedges have shapes/sizes that correspond to the quantities. That all makes sense.

My problem is that I have multiple rows for each of the four types of fruit (it's actually asset classes for investments, but the idea is the same). For example:

Apples 23

Oranges 32

Apples 10

Bananas 100

Oranges 5

Oranges 1

Apples 15

Oranges 20

Bananas 2

Mangos 10

Mangos 1

Mangos 1

Isn't there a way to create a chart with four wedges, summarizing the numeric data, without having to create a separate table that does the summary first?

If I have to create a summary table first, is there a good tutorial on how to do this?

Thanks,

Rich

OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.2)

Posted on Jan 29, 2013 1:22 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 29, 2013 1:56 PM

you must create a summary table. But that i not hard:

User uploaded file

You data is in a table (on the left) shrewdly title "Data" and is summarized in a table (on the right) in a table called "Summary". For the table "Summary":

1) make the first row and first column a header

2) B2=SUMIF(Data :: A, "="&A2, Data :: B)

3) select B2 and fill down as needed (select B2 and click, and hold, on the little circle at the bottom right of the selected cell, then drag down)