Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

FileMerge is way over my head... help!

I'm NOT a developer.
I downloaded XCode to get FileMerge after it was strongly suggested to me to sort out the mess that happened after a corrupted disk wouldn't go back to it's original state... In other words, I had made a clone of that disk prior to said corruption, and when I tried to clone the cloned image (or is there another way to copy it back to the first disk?), I noticed a huge gap in data size... and very quickly I could notice that not all files were transfered.

Now, I know not all files are cloned when you clone a disk. But interestingly, what happened wasn't that weird files I don't understand didn't transfer... it was the CONTENT of folders that were missing. The folder would be there and at first I'd think it got cloned back fine... but it would say 0kb. And if I tried to open it... there was indeed nothing there.

Since we're talking about my iTunes library and about 500Gb of data, I didn't feel like checking every entry manually... and that's where FileMerge comes in.

First I loaded both drives for the comparison. It took about 24 HOURS to complete the initializing process. I wish I had known it would take that long, otherwise I might have just done it manually after all!

Then, I realized I had the option to check what was different and correct it manually... or use the MERGE option.

So I chose MERGE.

In my weird logic, it meant that all that was different on one drive would be changed on the other... and since there had been no modifications, I figured it would simply mean all the files that didn't originally clone back, would finally be transferred, and I could FINALLY, after about a week of fiddling around, get my drive back... and be able to start over the work I had lost when the drive corrupted (the small part that had not been backed up-cloned).