1 Reply Latest reply: Feb 3, 2013 3:49 AM by jeanphicrosoft
iteachmusic Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)

I have an external hard drive that has never been disconnected from my iMac.

About 3 weeks ago, I started noticing that some of my iTunes library songs had "!" in front of them, and I wasn't able to find them to play.  Over time, more and more iTunes songs had this problem.  Someone recommended that I look in the hard drive library, for individual titles, and sure enough, there they were!  I've been dragging them back to iTunes but this is going to take forever, because I'm a music teacher and I have a lot of songs in my library.

In this process, I decided to see if the songs were still on the external hard drive, the Time Machine.  However, I get the message "your time machine back up disk cannot be found."  I have no idea what this must mean, because the Time Machine has been plugged in for a couple of years now.  But somehow, the computer doesn't recognize it any more.

Are the two problems related?  And what should I do?

iTunes, Mac OS X (10.6.8), using Time Machine external hard dr
  • jeanphicrosoft Level 1 Level 1 (30 points)

There is no relation.

Time Machine backups : my opinion is that this is a real waste of disk space, usefull for a few number of files but that's all ! In case of a reinstallation, everyone is performing a fresh installation ... In addition, after a certain time, TM erases the oldest files.

I personnaly backup only on mediums (CDs, DVDs, DVDs) etc ... then i'm always sure to find again what i'm searching for.