Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Newbie Lessons: Compressor 4, Multiple Processors, Qmaster, and Passwords

This post describes the lessons that I, a newbie, have learned while trying to come to grips with Compressor 4, version 4.06. I had trouble deciding whether to post this or not, because all of this information is available, in separate parts, throughout this forum. But I figured if I struggled to learn this stuff, so will other people, and perhaps my lessons can help.

So here's what I've learned so far. I'm a newbie, so feel free to correct any wrong assumptions or information. I'm not sure what's the best order in which to present this, so I'll just wing it.

I'm running Compressor 4.06, on a brand new 21" iMac. OS/X 10.8.2. I also have Final Cut Pro X.

All of this information is regarding using Compressor on a single machine. If you're trying to set up a multi-device cluster, take that into account as you read this post.

Getting Compressor to use multiple processors on a single machine

In order to get Compressor to make full use of the cool multi-core processor you have in your nice, shiny Mac, you have to use something called "Apple Qmaster", or more simply "Qmaster". The "Q" is short for "Queue", as in a queue of tasks to be executed. Here's how to get it working, and how to work around its "quirks".

1. While running Compressor, click the menu item "Apple Qmaster" and then "Share This Computer". Don't let the name confuse you - we're not really going to share our computer, although we could if we wanted to.
  2. In the "Apple Qmaster Sharing" dialog:
    1. Click "Share this computer" and "as QuickCluster with services".
    2. I only have "Compressor" checked - someone else can chimed in about the "Rendering" checkbox.