Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Time Machine over the Network: Terribly Slow

Hello,

I've been using Time Machine for over 3 years now with no issues over the network; the destination being a 2TB external Seagate connected to another iMac connected through gigabit ethernet. Everything has been working flawlessly: Every hour Time Machine would MOUNT the sparseimage it created on the disk, BACKUP the data and UNMOUNT the disk image when finished.

Until I upgraded to Lion. The above process is still working per se, however it is PAINFULLY slow! A 50MB backup can take up to AN HOUR! Searching around on the net, advised that there could be an issue with Spotlight as well, however this is not the case for me, since Spotlight finished a new index in under 30 mins. Followed every tutorial I could find on the issue, to no avail..

I then upgraded to Mountain Lion with the hope that the issue will clear itself. Cleared my old backups, resetted Time Machine by erasing its .plist file, restarted my iMac just to make sure and connected Time Machine to the network share anew, creating a "sharing only" account on the host iMac, i.e. the one that has the external HD connected through USB. Still no luck.

I painfully realize that I still have the same issue. While backing up, network traffic is under 100KB, and activity monitor does not show any backupd or mds or any similar processes taking anything over 3% of CPU time.

What could be wrong?

OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.2)

Posted on Feb 5, 2013 1:09 AM

9 replies

Feb 7, 2013 10:28 AM in response to Thanar

I finally decided to switch to using "tmutil setdestination" in order to change Time Machine's backup volume to the mounted volume that mounts by double-clicking the backups sparseimage through the Finder. That way, backups take place instantly.

I still would like to use the "official" method to select my Time Machine destination, though...