1 2 Previous Next 24 Replies Latest reply: Feb 9, 2013 1:57 PM by MichelPM
jbartlett10 Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)

Dear all   

Please help....I'm new to having a mac and have obtained a second hand iMac 4.1 with an intel core duo and a speed of 1.83GHz

I am struggling getting iCloud onto the computer to be able to look at my calendar and e-mails etc but also to be able to use for messenger and so forth.

Can anyone please advise me what I can do? and how I can get iCloud among many other things on my iMac.  I can't even upgrade it to OS X Mountain Lion (I'm running Mac OS X version 10.6.8).

Any help you can give me would be deeply appreciated.  I don't know much about Macs so anything in laymans terms would be great.

Many thanks

Jo

iMac, Mac OS X (10.6.8)
  • 1. Re: upgrading proessor
    Csound1 Level 8 Level 8 (35,460 points)

You can not upgrade your machine to the point it needs to be at for iCloud, there are no workarounds.

• 2. Re: upgrading proessor
    mende1 Level 10 Level 10 (89,570 points)

It's a so old iMac (Early 2006 iMac) that it's only compatible with Mac OS X Snow Leopard. Unfortunately, with that iMac you can't use iCloud (iCloud requires OS X Lion or later, but your Mac isn't compatible with Lion).

The problem is that your iMac uses an Intel Core Duo processor, that prevents you to install a newer version than Snow Leopard, just because it's not a 64-bit processor. I'm sorry, but there isn't too much that we can do with that computer, because it's not possible to modify the processor as it's soldered onto the logic board.

If you want iCloud, you need a new Mac

• 3. Re: upgrading proessor
    a brody Level 9 Level 9 (63,300 points)

Sorry, no processor upgrade is available for that machine.  But you can shop around for used or refurbished machine, or run Windows if you must get into iCloud.   Alternatives are on my FAQ:

https://discussions.apple.com/docs/DOC-2551

And how to buy a used or refurbished machine on: