Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

time machine slow.

I have a MBA, its all up to date- anyway: I restored the computer to a week prior state to sync restore my phone to a prior OS. Then I restored the MBA to the latest backup (about 10 minutes before I went backwards), it all went fine.

Now when I try to re sync time machine it takes a very long time. after about 20 minutes it had written abou 8K of the 25 gigs it says need to be sent to the time machine.

I use a 500 gig external disk.

I canceled the update, and will wait a few days, or a response to re-try. I think maybe the time machine, and my machine to reindex the changes since the restore. any ideas/information will be appreciated.

Regards,

Liam

MacBook Air (11-INCH, MID 2011), OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.2)

Posted on Feb 11, 2013 8:17 AM

20 replies

Feb 11, 2013 10:23 AM in response to wcrowder

You restored the computer which changed the state of a whole slew of files. TimeMachine saw massive changes between the last backup and the current state of the files on your hard drive. Therefore it wants to back up everything that changed as a result of the restore. No way around it, let TimeMachine have at it.

Feb 11, 2013 11:33 AM in response to dwb

But...

I did an update at 7PM. Went quickly. Then I turned off computer, restored to a week ago. Did my thing, then restored to the 7PM, most current update. Since it is really just being updated from 7pm, to 730 is it not a small change? Usually my daily update takes 2-5 minutes. In effect, this is only a small change, really.

Or am I mistaken?

Feb 11, 2013 11:45 AM in response to wcrowder