Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Which software for video editing?

I am new to video editing. I will be going to college soon and I plan on studying Post-Production. I would like to eventually edit features, tv shows, and trailers (either one, or all).

What software should I get? I'm looking at Premiere, Avid and Final Cut Pro X.

Final Cut Pro X, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.2)

Posted on Feb 23, 2013 2:18 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 23, 2013 2:30 PM

There are some educators also trying to figure this out.

http://forums.creativecow.net/readpost/335/47733

And at the secondary school level, a friend who runs the HS's (very robust and very popular) digital media program is trying to make that curriculum call before the end of this school year. Very interesting times.

Around here it's more likely to be Avid and the old FCP– at least for broadcast. Other markets may be different.

Good luck.

Russ

9 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Feb 23, 2013 2:30 PM in response to All_Time_Low

There are some educators also trying to figure this out.

http://forums.creativecow.net/readpost/335/47733

And at the secondary school level, a friend who runs the HS's (very robust and very popular) digital media program is trying to make that curriculum call before the end of this school year. Very interesting times.

Around here it's more likely to be Avid and the old FCP– at least for broadcast. Other markets may be different.

Good luck.

Russ

Feb 23, 2013 3:50 PM in response to All_Time_Low

For broadcast and film, the industry standard is Avid with Premiere in second. Avid's educational price is $295, just under FCPX at $299.

You should learn Avid, Premiere and FCPX. This will make you well rounded and able to work in any post-production environment, since different programs are used.