Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Dear friends,

Dear friends,I would really appreciate your help.

For the last three months (and for the next 10 months) I am running my macbook pro (2010) many hours per day, while working. I actually use it as a desktop for all these hours. The battery is still holding but I would like to ask if there is any way to isolate battery and have it switched on by using only the power cord and not the battery, or maybe a way to stop the battery from charging since I guess it will eventually ruin its health. I am using it for about 6-8 hours per day.

It is my first time on the forum, so I hope I was detailed enough!!!

Thank you all!!!!

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted on Feb 24, 2013 7:14 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 24, 2013 7:17 AM

Your best performance is having it operate the way it is intended, power and battery working, and not the way you are suggesting.

10 replies

Feb 24, 2013 8:41 AM in response to JagaThundercat

Thank you very much for your answers

So DLMiller you propose that as long as I have it connected the main source is the cord and not the battery? Will not ruin the battery? I am trying to charge it , then use battery, then charge it etc. To keep the battery working and the power not to ruin the battery, which I thought it will lose life if I have the power connected most of the time. You propose to keep the power on and take it of (more or less) when I want to use it as a laptop (as it is of course)?

Feb 24, 2013 8:54 AM in response to JagaThundercat