Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iMovie title customization problems

Hello,

I'm new to iMovie. My band's last gig was filmed and I need to make a video for each song to upload onto youtube. Everything is going well except for the title intro. I would like to have a black screen with the title of our band and the song while the intro plays out. After 10 seconds or so, I would like the black screen and title to fade out together and continue the video--without any interruption to the audio! I can't seem to get the fading right, and the black screen only lasts for a short while and it fades in. I'd rather have a solid black screen and title while the audio plays in the background until the singing starts. Can anybody please help me out?

Thanks,

Shane

MacBook Pro, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.2)

Posted on Feb 24, 2013 4:07 PM

7 replies

Feb 24, 2013 4:26 PM in response to ShanenahS

You need a combination of things.

I would suggest that you start with a plain black background. You can find this under the Maps button on the middle toolbar. Drag a black background into your project from the Maps browser, and set its duration as long as you want.

Then pick a title and drag it on top of the black background. Set the length of the title to a length that you like.

Finally place a Fade Through Black transition between your black background and the first clip of your video.

The transition can be at most half the length of the shortest clip on either side, but it can be shorter than that if you like.

Feb 25, 2013 3:52 AM in response to ShanenahS

Hi Shane,

As AppleMan is probably still sleeping, I thought I'd jump in and suggest something that he would have also responded with.