7 Replies Latest reply: Feb 25, 2013 3:21 PM by parker612
parker612 Level 4 (1,195 points)



When trying to back up my MacBook Pro I get the following message:

Screen Shot 2013-02-25 at 2.46.27 PM.png

I have a few questions regarding this message.

First and foremost, why did I get this message?

Will I lose all of my backups for my MacBook Pro if i select Start new Backup?

Will I lose all of my backups for my iMac (which is also backed up to my Time Capsule)?


Things you should know:


- I have a 15" MacBook Pro (early 2011), 27" iMac (late 2009), a 2TB Time Machine.

- Both computers are backed up to the same Time Capsule.

- I have not had this problem before. Everything was running smoothly in past year of backing up both computers to my Time Capsule.

- I recently deleted a few backups off the Time Capsule (via entering Time Machine and selecting Delete Backup) from my iMac.

Screen Shot 2013-02-25 at 2.56.19 PM.png

- However, I just backed up my iMac with no issues at all.


Any help is much appreciated! I would like to hopefully solve this issue/figure out why this happened on this forum before spending hours on the phone with Apple Support.


Thanks in advance!

MacBook Pro, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.2), 15 inch; 2.2 GHz Intel Core i7