Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

how do i tranfer files from pc to iPad

sorry guys I'm new to the Apple world and haven't managed to transfer a large volume of files (pdfs, images, etc) from a PC (Windows Vista) to my new ipad.

Any help is well appreciated.

iPad

Posted on Feb 26, 2013 9:16 AM

6 replies

Feb 26, 2013 9:22 AM in response to spidereuropa

You first need one or more apps on the iPad that supports the type of file that you want to add to it - it doesn't have a 'file system' like a 'normal' computer, everything has to be stored in an app.

To sync photos to the iPad's Photos apps, then if you are on iTunes 11 on your computer then you may want to re-enable the left-hand sidebar via View > Show Sidebar (option-command-S on a Mac, control-S on a PC), which might make it easier to navigate and my instructions may make more sense.

Connect and select your iPad on the left-hand side of your computer's iTunes (if you've enabled the sidebar), and on the right-hand side there should be a series of tabs, one of which should be Photos - if you select that tab you can then select which photo folders to sync to the iPad. There is a bit more info on this page. You will need to sync all the photos that you want on the iPad together in one go as only the most recent photo sync remains on the iPad - synced photos can't be deleted directly on the iPad, instead they are deleted by not including them in the next photo sync.