Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Newsroom Update

Apple is introducing a new Apple Watch Pride Edition Braided Solo Loop, matching watch face, and dynamic iOS and iPadOS wallpapers as a way to champion global movements to protect and advance equality for LGBTQ+ communities. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

AutoFill Fix for iOS Safari - SOLVED

Hi, as I'm new in Mac world I have lots of stuff to learn, but here's one for the comunity.

AutoFill is great, but it has its difficulties when multiple keyboard are being used. So I had "Auto-Correction" switched off. This simple from first view unrelated option disables "AutoFill" in Safari, even tho, "AutoFill" button remains active/unactive all the time, but never works when pressed.

So, check Settings > General > Keyboard for Auto-Correction On/Off. No restarts needed, but do, if won't function at first.

I hope this helps and if not, let me know.

iPhone 5, iOS 6.1.2, 32 GB

Posted on Feb 27, 2013 6:33 AM

22 replies

Mar 2, 2013 6:49 AM in response to cabavyras

Thanks, cabavyras. Turning off AutoFill, turning on AutoCorrect, turning AutoFill back on did the trick for me. No restart, reboot, restore or reset necessary. The best news: I was then able to turn AutoCorrect back on and AutoFill still works. Your solution took me only a minute or so and I seem to be back where I was before I updated my iPhone. Thanks so much!

May 20, 2013 6:28 AM in response to judygr

Turning Autocorrect back off disables Autofill for me :(

This is supremely annoying. Having to choose between the convenience of Autofill and the absolute garbage that is AutoCorrect is very frustrating. In some ways, knowing that this is a bug and not an intentional disabling of the autofill feature by Apple for security reasons is even worse. Apple, please fix this bug!

Jun 6, 2013 10:37 AM in response to cabavyras