Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Macbook Pro Retina Burn-In

Hey guys

I got a Macbook Pro 15" with retina display and about 3 months after i bought it i notice that i get alot of ghosting images.

For example, i am a student and write rather long essays that take me weeks to complete, for one particular essay i had microsoft office open and was working on it but when i finally got to the point when i was going to call it a day and stop i quit the program and i could see a essay and microsoft office ghost image on my screen this took about 5 days before it faded and it really annoyed me. I live in NZ and the closest apple service place is a 2 hour drive, i had this essay sitting on my screen for a few days and thought so long as i didnt leave things open on screen for a long time i wouldn't have any problems. However now i notice having a screen open for anywhere over 10 minutes leaves a ghosting/burn in image on my screen for about half a day to longer.

Now to my question, since i still have over 9 months of warranty left can i claim on this and will they give me a replacement machine or atleast fix the moniter?

All Help is appreciated.

MacBook Pro (Retina, Mid 2012), OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.2)

Posted on Mar 7, 2013 8:03 PM

4 replies

Apr 11, 2013 6:49 PM in response to SwankPeRFection

After calling AppleCare about this, they said to bring my MacBook Pro Retina to a genius at the AppleStore. He ran some tests and confirmed that this was indeed a display issue. He said Apple was aware of this problem but there was no fix available. I was told to take the laptop home and they'd contact me if and when a fix ever became available...

Apr 12, 2013 9:10 AM in response to Mick_M