Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

rMBP or MBP?

Hi Guys.

I am interested to know your opinions on the following, as im stuck at a crossroards and just cant quite decide what to go for.

I am a designer and looking at buying a Brand new, New Apple MacBook Pro with Retina Display, Intel Quad Core i7, 2.4GHz, 256GB, 8GB RAM, with 15.4 Inch Display or the Apple MacBook Pro, Intel Quad Core i7, 2.6GHz, 750GB, 8GB RAM with 15.4 Inch Display.

Now i do have a 2009 standard Macbook but would like to upgrade, i sometimes play games like Call of Duty 2/4 and Counterstrike Global Offensive but its pretty hard as the laptop is barely playable online with these games.

I was wondering if either of these 2 laptops im looking at purchasing would play any of these games comfortable with stable and high FPS as i do love the occasional multiplayer game.

Is retina really worth the extra money? will it improve visual graphically ingame?

I know both these laptops will be fantastic for my designing needs, but do they play well gaming online? which would perform better?

Any reply or input would be much appreiated.

Many thanks.

MacBook Pro

Posted on Mar 8, 2013 4:56 PM

8 replies

Mar 8, 2013 5:05 PM in response to Pete77777

Welcome, Pete77777,

You will get different opinions on here about your questions but I would say that yes, both would be great for your desinging needs. The Retina display is a great machine and has great graphics and is super fast with the SSDs. The MBP is also a great machine and is upgradable with RAM and HD if needed. Neither of them are great for HARD gaming but the occasional game including Call of Duty is fine. You have to remember that Macs are not gaming machines and I would recommend a gaming machine if you're a hard gamer. I personally have the Retina display and would recommend it out of the two.

Mar 8, 2013 5:39 PM in response to Pete77777