Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Newbie: Center multiple text elements horizontally?

I'm an extreme newbie at Motion 5, and I want to do something that's probably really simple, but I can't figure out how to do it.

I'm working on a FCPX Title effect. I'm attempting to modify the "Trailer" Title in Motion 5. Consider this portion:

User uploaded file

I want it to look more like the iMovie version, where descriptions like "EDITED BY" are wrapped, like this:

User uploaded file

The FCPX effect has the entire "line" in one text element. My guess is that I need to break it up into multiple text elements, which sounds simple enough. But when I'm using it in FCPX, and I type into one of the text elements, I want all of the text elements to adust themselves as though it was one text line, horizontally. In other words, as I type "DAN THOMAS", the text elements to the right would move over to accomodate the new text, and all of them would stay centered horizontally.

I'm guessing this is fairly simple, but even if it isn't, I'm game. I'm a developer, so I'm not totally inept. Just under-educated. 😉

Thanks!

Dan

iMac (21.5-inch, Late 2012), OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.2)

Posted on Mar 16, 2013 8:31 AM

5 replies

Mar 16, 2013 2:51 PM in response to Dan Thomas (DAGWare)

The method I would use would be to break down each into title/name pairs, so that the first (in this example) would be "edited by dan thomas". Add that to the canvas. In the Inspector > Text > Format > Advanced Formatting, select All Caps and set the All Caps Size to 100%.

Go to Inspector > Text > Layout and select Layout Method: Paragraph and Auto-Shrink: Left and Right (this way, it won't matter how long the segment is, it will be compacted to fit in its allocated space !) (Auto-Shrink doesn't change the font height with this setting - only character widths.)