Newsroom Update

Apple is introducing a new Apple Watch Pride Edition Braided Solo Loop, matching watch face, and dynamic iOS and iPadOS wallpapers as a way to champion global movements to protect and advance equality for LGBTQ+ communities. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

"Your payment authorization has failed"

Hi all,

I'm new to Apple and am trying to set up my Apple ID account properly, but I keep hitting a bump in the road.

Every time I've tried to input my card details (it's a Visa Debit card from ANZ/National Bank) it says: "Your payment authorization failed. Please verify your information and try again, or try another payment method."

I've checked, double checked and triple checked my account information, it is all exactly the same as on my card and I have sufficient funds on my account.

Gosh, all I want to do is download some exciting apps that everyone talks about, I only just got an iPhone!

Please someone help 😟

iPhone 3G, For Apple ID

Posted on Mar 17, 2013 4:10 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Mar 17, 2013 4:20 PM

That error means that your card issuer rejected an authorization request. You need to resolve it with them. Note that for a card to be accepted ALL of these must be true:

• The name on the card must match exactly the name in iTunes for the card description
  • The card number must match
  • The expiration date must match
  • The CCV code must match
  • The address must match the card's billing address exactly
  • The card must be issued by a bank in the same country as the iTunes store you wish to access
14 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Mar 17, 2013 4:20 PM in response to KittyorGtfo

That error means that your card issuer rejected an authorization request. You need to resolve it with them. Note that for a card to be accepted ALL of these must be true: