Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

MacBook Pro for CAD

Hello All,

I am a Mechanical Engineering student. Most of my classes involve some work with Autodesk Inventor, Solid Edge, and other 3D CAD programs. I currently own a 13" MacBook Unibody(Late 2008, base model). I upgraded the RAM from 2GB to 4GB about a year ago. This still has a relativly small HDD with 160GB(only 65GB used). The specifications of the new base 13" MacBook Pro beat my MB. However, what my MB has that the new one does not, is a dedicated graphics card(256 MB). My parents are pressuring me into buying a new MBP, so that I could give them my current MB, which runs almost flawlessly, even after 5 years of abuse from me.

So my question is: Will graphics intensive programs like Autodesk Inventor and Solid Edge run better on a new base model 13" MacBook Pro with integrated graphics, or my current 13" MacBook Unibody with dedicated graphics?

If I had the money, I would buy the 15" MBP, which has a big graphics card. Sadly, I do not.

Note: Either way, I will be using Bootcamp to install Windows to run 3D CAD. I am not a fan of the Mac versions of these programs. Also, I am looking into replacing the CD/DVD drive with a Data Doubler so I can have two hard drives; one will be an SSD.

Thank You

MacBook Pro, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.3), 3D CAD

Posted on Mar 21, 2013 10:07 AM

6 replies

Mar 21, 2013 10:20 AM in response to HockeyGoalie33

First off it you are going to install Windows on a Mac, IMHO, you'd be better off buying a Windows notebook that had a real graphic card. Mac's and PCs use the extact same hardware, there is no difference.