Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Moved iLife and iTune Libraries to External Drive (iMovie related)

First post and is this going to be a doozie.

I recently had someone come to my home and move all my iPhoto, iTunes and iMovie items to an external hard drive. He was an Apple official consultant but when it came to iMovie he moved them via FINDER and NOT within the iMovie Application. I realized that this was a mistake only after getting into my iMac and trouble shooting. Disclaimer: While I’m OK at iMovie making, I'm not technically savvy when it comes to issues with my iMac, hence the reason I hired some outside help. I had to move all the libraries b/c the space on the iMac was down to 10% and we were getting disk failure warnings often (this is stuff you probably would’ve guessed).

The external hard drive is formatted for iOS extended and the projects can be pulled up from the external hard drive although there are a ton of missing video clips for my projects (yellow triangle warning symbol). Almost all the music and iTune audio recordings I used within my projects aren’t working either. I think my solution for each is the following but would love to get some input from the community. Treat me with kid gloves; I fully recognize my newb status when it comes to navigating my way around the iMac. My wife calls me a “right clicker” and reminds me that I’m not good enough to be working on a Mac.

1. Re-implement the video clips within each project. This could be a fairly big effort but the good news is that all the clips are on the external hard drive.
  2. UNDO the move of all the iMovie and iPhoto files back to the iMac and then redo back to the external hard drive.
  3. Not sure what to do about the iTune clips within each iMovie project

I may need some screen shots or video tutorials to help me walk through what I should do. I don't know what operating system the iMac is.

lowcountrygrits