Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Deleted Photos Still on Computer?

I've been using iPhoto for several years now.

I recently imported my latest batch of photos from my camera into a new event. I made some edits to a few pictures and deleted some others. I do this often. When you press the delete button in iPhoto it no longer shows up in the event and is in the iPhoto trash. I empty the iPhoto trash and have emptied OSX trash. However, I discovered that the files I thought I had been deleting are still in an iPhoto folder. Do I have years of deleted pictures on my hard drive? If so, no wonder I keep having to get bigger hard drives.

For example, I have one picture called IMG_1050.jpg. If I search in spotlight it shows up as a picture in the iPhoto folder. When I found the folder containing IMG_1050.jpg, I realized that all the pictures I had just deleted are still there.

If I open iPhoto and click on photos on the left side where you can see all your photos at one time, and do a search for 1050, you can't find a photo with that number. Help!

MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2008), Mac OS X (10.7.4)

Posted on Apr 5, 2013 12:27 AM

13 replies

Apr 5, 2013 12:29 AM in response to mnbinth

I should also add, that the only picture files I want are the pictures you can see in the iPhoto app. If I've edited a picture, I want to keep the edit. I could care less about the original if there is still a copy of that. Is there any software that deletes all pictures in the iPhoto folder that aren't already seen in the iPhoto app.

Apr 5, 2013 12:41 AM in response to mnbinth

Failure to delete the photos from the HD is usually a symptom of a damaged database.