Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Wifi drops constantly - Macbook Retina Pro

I have a new Macbook Pro Retina that I have been using for a few months. Everything is great except one really infuriating problem. The wifi drops constantly, every few minutes I will see the wifi icon start flashing like it's connecting to a network, it will reconnect no problem, but again, after a while it will just randomly disconnect itself. There are other devices on the network, like my iphone that never drops. I am wondering if there is a solution to this problem?

Also, I do have bluetooth turned off, I don't think there is any interference from that. I used to have a Macbook Air that did not have this problem. I upgraded from a 2010 Macbook Air to a 2012 Retina Pro, and that's when the problems started.

MacBook Pro with Retina display, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.3)

Posted on Apr 9, 2013 11:22 AM

17 replies

Jan 11, 2017 4:07 PM in response to VictorGo

Finally I discovered that the Mac connects to my router on two bands – 2.4 and 5GHz. I quickly went to the router advanced settings and started manipulating with those 2 bands. First I have completely turned off the 2.4GHz and bingo! Mac stopped messing around and was working completely fine. Unfortunately I have some devices that needs 2.4GHz band to connect, and also in other part of my flat the 5GHz is not working anyway.

I ended up changing the SSID name for one of the bands – so I connect either to 5GHz or to 2.4GHz.

That seemed to solve my problem. Hallelujah!

My guess is that Mac automatically trying to swap between those 2 bands back and forth, depending on the signal strength or something, but my router doesn't support that and the whole system gets confused.

I'm based in UK and using BT Home Hub 4 (Type A) | Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.130.1.32

<Edited by Host>

Apr 9, 2013 1:03 PM in response to VictorGo

Try the basics first: