12 Replies Latest reply: Apr 12, 2013 1:34 PM by Ian R. Brown
paulfromhendricks Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)

Still quite a bit of a noob here, but I am learning.

I have an 83 minute project edited in Final Cut Pro 10.0.8 and am using a MacBook Pro running 10.6.8.  When played back in Final Cut and in QuickTime, the video shows just fine in its full dimensions.  However, when burned to a DVD and played on two different TVs, the image is chopped down as approximated in the illustration below, which comes out of Final Cut using Share > Save current frame.

capture.jpg

The video does not appear to be reconfiguring correctly for DVD playback.  Naturally, I want this to appear in its full dimensions when viewed on a TV.  My DVD is set to play in 16:9.

The source video is 1920x1080 HD, 29.97 fps, shot with the Canon XF 422 50Mbps 1080P29.97 Linear PCM codec.

Workflow:  I have tried processing the project in Final Cut with three different sets of properties:  1920x1080 1080i 29.97i, 1280x720 720p 29.97p, and 1440x1080 1080i 29.97i.  The results are the same:  Shows fine on the computer screen, gets chopped down on TV.  I am aware of differences in video quality between the computer screen and standard DVD, but am far from an expert.  I just want the video to appear the correct dimension and show all of the image.

Further workflow:  My practice is to Share a Master QuickTime file in Apple ProRes 422.  Then pull it into Compressor 4.0.7 using the pre-set Create DVD template which gives the MPEG-2 for DVD and Dolby Digital Professional settings.  Then use Hard Drive as the output device from Compressor, resulting in a disk image.  Then use Disk Utility to burn the DVD at the slowest speed.

Any thoughts?................ Please!

Final Cut Pro X, Mac OS X (10.6.8)
  • Luis Sequeira1 Level 6 Level 6 (8,060 points)

The screenshot for some reason is not visible here.