Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Need an organized workflow for editing AVCHD in FCE

Hi all,

Yikes.

I just upgraded to a Macbook Pro, but haven't been able to upgrade to my editing software for the time being. So what I have to work with for now is FCE 4.01, which I've never used before.

I'm also editing AVCHD for the first time. I imported it it in, to my dismay it imported as a large pile of clips, with no timecode. Grr.

I'm editing a wedding, and have three camera cards, two of which contain ceremony portions which should be synced. Except that they're chopped up like a salad into little teeny AVCHD clips.

Again, Grr.

I'm doing searches to answer the question, but can anyone pass along a workflow that works for them, a system for staying organized?

Is there any way to get these to import as one file that would retain timecode? I'm guessing, no.

If nothing else I guess I could label each card's clips by color to identify which camera they came from. But ti's still a big hairy mess.

Suggestions that will get me out of the Pit (other then the obvious, get Avid or Premiere or FCP7, which I will do as soon as I am able) are highly appreciated.

Thanks =/

FInal Cut Pro 4.5-OTHER, Mac OS X (10.4.11), G5 (I know, ancient...)

Posted on Apr 15, 2013 7:52 PM

19 replies

Apr 15, 2013 9:03 PM in response to Meg The Dog

Maybe it is just camera starts/stops. I was under the impression that the camera automatically started a new clip or file after the previous clip reached a certian size. There are so many clips and I just imported them in, so I haven't had a chance to look at them that closely yet - am reviewing them now.

My system before was to dump an entire tape, then cut it up.

This is different; all these clips could easily become a tangle.

Apr 15, 2013 9:16 PM in response to Editgrrl1