Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

pitch changes but not tempo, used Classic

I'm brand new to Logic Pro but am jumping right in. I am trying to tranpose an audio file in Time/Pitch Machine under Samples/Factory/.

I clicked on "Classic" because I interpreted instructions under "Help" that "Classic" would force the Tempo parameters to adjust to keep the original tempo.

It is not working out. The piece is in the correctted pitch I want, but is still much slower when both "prelistening" and "process and pasting."

I'm half way there, pitch is correct. How do I get the tempo correct? (I also tried moving the numbers in the tempo section up and down in Universal Mode and it just stayed at the same slow tempo.)

iMac, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.3)

Posted on Apr 16, 2013 8:36 PM

4 replies

Apr 16, 2013 10:41 PM in response to James Thomson

Try to read once more:

Classic: In Classic mode, pitch and tempo are linked, so transposing a selected region also affects its tempo. The resulting effect simulates the sound of changing tape speed. The pitch increases as the tape speeds up, and it decreases as the tape slows down.

Instead use:

Free: In Free mode (the more common mode setting), you can make all pitch and tempo adjustments independently of one another.

What are you trying to achieve exactly?

Cheers!

Apr 17, 2013 3:57 AM in response to kcstudio