Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I'm having problems with Netinstall. I want to add programs to the image.

I'm a newbie here. Here is what I want to do. I have a Mac Mini as my server. It's running 10.8.3 and I purchased the server add on. I want to create a Netinstall and add programs like Firefox, Skype, and ect. I want my laptop to be able to install the OS as well as the added programs. I've tried many times and it just won't work. I reboot my laptop and I see the Netinstall I created. When I install, I don't see the programs I thought I put in the SIU. So, my question is how do I do this? What files do the programs need to be or do I need to do anything to them? I've dragged and dropped them in Add packages. I just need someone to tell me a step by step solution here. Please help. I've been through the forum, and no clear instructions on how to accomplish this. The apple support site is no use to me. It seems like the community knows more. Thank you in advance.

Mac Server-OTHER, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.3)

Posted on Apr 18, 2013 10:27 AM

9 replies

Apr 22, 2013 8:16 AM in response to easer353

From your description it sounds as though you've managed to get into the workflow mode, and found the "Add Packages" action.

Did you place the Add Packages action between the "Define Image Source" and the "Create Image" action? This is very important, and something many people get wrong.

Assuming you've got this correct, check the install.log on a system after performing the NetInstall. Look for anything that indicates the packages were processed, and then either installed, or skipped.

Apr 23, 2013 3:38 AM in response to easer353

Dear easer353

Why are you using NetInstall ?

NetRestore should allow you to push an image with all your packages. It will be quicker.