Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Best retina laptop for music composer/audio recording/film scoring

Hello All-

I recently purchased the 13" retina MacBook Pro with 3Ghz intel Core i7 Dual processor with 8 GB of Ram and am on the verge of returning it for the 15 inch 2.7 Ghz Quad core i7 retina.

I am a professional composer and also use my computer for audio recording (nothing TOO intense) and am beginning to get into scoring for animated shorts and even a little bit of film work myself.

I love the size of the 13 inch and it's pretty fast, but I am on the fence because I would have loved to have my 13 inch equipped with a quad processor and 16 GB of ram.

Am I being ridiculous, or is the 15 inch really not only the best bang for my buck, but also the most appropriate power for a growing artist.

(I have a beautiful 27inch iMac with quad processor i5 and 8 GB of Ram)

I have maybe 12 days to make the decision before I can't return it.

Please Help!!

Thanks

MacBook Pro with Retina display, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.3), To super upgrade or just to upgrade

Posted on Apr 18, 2013 4:36 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 18, 2013 4:38 PM

or you can go the other way and get the 15 inch non retina base model Macbook Pro and upgrade the RAM yourself to 16GB and change the hard drive (this is optional) for a SSD.

8 replies

Apr 18, 2013 4:48 PM in response to jp66177

me too...I bought the 15 inch Macbook Retina when it first came out - with 2.7GHz - 16GB RAM and 768GB SSD.

nice and fast but had issues with it with Photoshop and Office - sold it to a friend who paid me for what it cost me.