Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Help with repeating in Applescript

Hi, I'm very new to Applescript(about 2 or 3 days). I've been learning the basic things for Applescript, so I'm trying to make a quiz-like script with 5 questions and answers using a display dialog. When the answer is correct, it goes to the next question. However, if it is wrong, I display a different dialog that says "Wrong!" and I give them two buttons to Press: "Close" or "Restart". I execute error number -128 when the user presses "Close".

But my problem is with the "Restart Button"

The way I want it is when the user presses Restart once they get the answer wrong on any question, I want the whole script to restart and back to the 1st question. I've tried using repeat/end repeat method, but it's not seeming to work. I try to set it to repeat variable Question_1 one time, but it's not working. I need help!

Below is the script for the first Question:

set Question_1 to display dialogQuestionOnedefault answer "" buttons {"OK"} default button 1

if text returned of Question_1 is answer_3 or text returned of Question_1 is answer_4 then

display dialog "Correct!" buttons {"Next"} default button 1

with transaction

end transaction

else

beep

set incorrect to display dialog "Wrong!" buttonsRestartOrClosedefault button 2

if button returned of incorrect is Closing then

error number -128

end if

if button returned of incorrect is Restarting then

repeat 1 times

end repeat

end if

end if

iPhone 4, iOS 5.1.1

Posted on Apr 22, 2013 4:00 PM

7 replies

Apr 22, 2013 5:29 PM in response to joseph0819

This should work:

set qs to {"Who is the President of United States?", "Who was the President of United States before Barack?", "Now, who then was the President of United States before Bush?"}

set asw to {"Barack Obama", "George Bush", "Bill Clinton"}

repeat with i from 1 to 3

display dialog (qs's itemi) default answer ""